Audience Management allows you to view all of the information in your guide that you may need during your event. You see who has signed in to your guide and send email invitations here as well as segment your users into groups. You can also see how many users (and who) are registered for sessions in your schedule as well as assign sessions to users using Preset Schedules.
The Users Tab
In Guidebook Builder, open the guide you are working on. From the guide dashboard, click on Audience Management. You will arrive at the Users tab.
The Users tab will show who has been invited to your guide and who has downloaded it and logged into their account.
The possible status for users in this tab are:
- Created: You have added the user to the Users section but haven't sent an invite.
- Invited: You have sent this user an invitation.
- Logged In: This user has downloaded your guide and logged into their account.
- Revoked (Invite-Only): You added this user to the user's list (and potentially sent them an invitation) but you have revoked their access.
- If a user has already downloaded the guide, the next time the guide refreshes, they will lose access to it.
- If a user has not downloaded the guide yet, they will not have access to it, like any other user who is not invited.
To find out more about inviting users, bulk invites or email invitations, please see our Invite Your Users article.
When you add a user to the User's list this creates an account for the users on their behalf. If they have an account associated with the invited email address already, you may notice that their Name, Title and Company will show in the Users list. This means that this user has previously added personal details to their profile.
You can use the Export users to CSV option on the Users tab to get a spreadsheet version of the Users list.
To comply with GDPR regulations, this export will only show users information who have opted into GDPR privacy. Users who do not consent to sharing their data will be made anonymous in this export. For more information about GDPR, click here.
Guide Privacy and the User's List
Please set your guide’s privacy as early on as possible. Changing your guide privacy between public, passphrase, and/or invite-only repeatedly will cause confusion and poor user experience. To learn more about the different privacy settings click here.
For public and passphrase-protected guides, you will simply see a list of users who have downloaded your guide and logged in. There may be users you do not specifically invite via Builder who download your guide. If these users download your guide but never log in, they will NOT appear in the Users tab. Users must log in to be visible in the Users tab. If you invite a user and they have downloaded your guide but not logged in yet, they will show as Invited.
For Invite-Only guides, only users you have added to the Users list will have access to your guide when they sign in with their Guidebook account. Think of the user’s list as a whitelist of who can access your guide.
The Groups Tab
Segment your users into groups to take advantage of targeted Push Notifications and/or Preset Schedules. This is especially helpful if numerous users need to receive the same information at once or be assigned the same schedule.
These features are available on Premium or Metered plans.
To create a group, click on the New button on the Groups tab. Give your group a name then start typing in the name of the user(s) you would like to add to this group. Click to select each user then click Create.
Click on the name of the group to quickly review the status (Created/Invited/Logged-in) of each group member. You can also remove a user from a group via the cog to the right of the users listing or remove multiple users by selecting them on the left-hand side.
You can view the total number of users in a group in the Groups tab. You can also delete a group using the cog on the right-hand side of the group name.
You can view and manage group assignments from the Users tab too. Click on the group affiliation menu next to a user’s name to add, view, and/or remove group membership.
From your guide dashboard, click on Audience management. Select the Session registrations tab to see how many users have signed up for the sessions in your Schedule that Require Registration. Sessions that do not require a User to register will not appear here.
Attendance management is available on Premium or Metered plans.
In this tab, you'll be able to see how many Users have registered for each session as well as how many Users have a pre-set registration (assigned via Preset Schedule). If a session has a Wait List enabled, you'll also see how many users are on the list.
For a comprehensive list of registrations, click the Export button. A link to download a spreadsheet of the data will be sent to your inbox.
To see who has signed up for each session, click on a session title. Inside, you'll see a breakdown of the three categories of registrants associated with the session.
With Preset Schedules, you can assign sessions to your Users or Groups. When your Users log in to the app, they will see their pre-assigned agenda in their My Schedule menu item. More information about creating and managing Preset Schedules is available in our Preset Schedules support article.
Guide Admin or Editors can see the records of how many users were verified at a session and who, from Audience management section of your Guide dashboard.
Select the Attendance records tab to see how many users have been verified as attending the session. Sessions will not appear here where attendance was not verified.
In this tab, you'll be able to see how many Users have been verified as attending a session for each session. For a comprehensive list of verifications, click the Export button. A link to download a spreadsheet of the data will be sent to your inbox.
Creating Attendance Records in Builder
Guide Admins or Editors can also manually verify users and remove an attendance record from the Builder site. Within the Audience Management section under the Attendance records tab, new records can be created by clicking on Add Record.
When a session is selected you can delete a record via the cog to the right-hand side. The option to add a record will also appear under the tracks bubbles.
You can read more about the verifying users attendance via the app in our Session Verification support article.
Many of our guide administrators find the data we gather about user behavior critical to managing their events, organizations, businesses, and communities. There are two types of reports you can generate via Builder:
- User Engagement Report: Details per User to help you determine your most valuable Users
- Session/List Items Report: Details per session and custom list item to identify your Users’ interests
You can read more about the data that can be gathered via engagement reports and how to generate them on our Engagement Report article.