Increase engagement by allowing your users to connect with one another. Connected users can view each other's full profile and send in-app chat messages to each other. When a user has checked in to a guide they can be invited to attend a meeting by any signed-in user using Meeting Booking.
The Connect feature is designed as a user opt-in social feature. Feel free to rename your menu item from Connect to encourage your attendees to engage. Here are some ideas:
- Check-in & Connect
- Connect & Chat
Users will need to log in to connect and chat with one another.
In-app, make sure you’re logged in. Tap the button at the bottom of the Connect feature to Check-in to this guide. Once you're checked in, you can request to connect with other checked-in users and initiate an in-app conversation.
Manage Your Profile
After you have logged in, tap on the icon in the top-right corner of the screen. Tap the gear icon near the top-left on iOS devices and the top-right on Android devices to edit your profile.
You can choose to add information to your profile here. We recommend adding some details so fellow users will reach out to you.
Connect with Others
There are two ways to connect with other users after logging in. You can use your Guidebook ID or connect via the Connect list in the guide.
When you tap the hamburger button ≡ to open the navigation menu, at the bottom you will see your avatar, your full name, and a QR code. Tap the QR code to view your Guidebook ID.
To connect with other attendees using your Guidebook ID, have one of you scan the other's code. You can navigate between “My Code” and “Scan” to have others send connection requests to you, and to send connection requests to others. You can accept a connection request by both scanning each other's codes.
The screenshots below illustrate a few steps along the process of using your Guidebook ID to connect with another user.
The left screenshot is Judy’s Guidebook ID (her individual QR code). She will navigate to the Scan tab to scan Joanne’s code. The image to the right shows Judy's device immediately after she scans Joanne’s code. A connection request is sent when Judy taps on Send request.
The left screenshot is Joanne’s Guidebook ID (her individual QR code). She will navigate to the Scan tab to scan Judy’s code. The image to the right shows Joanne’s device immediately after she scans Judy’s code. As they have a pending connection request, she is prompted her to accept the connection request.
Tap on the Connect feature in the main menu. At the bottom of the screen, make sure it says Attending which shows you have checked-in to the guide. You will now be listed and visible to other users.
You can connect with another user here by tapping on the Add to the right of the user's name or by selecting their profile and tapping Connect with ... at the bottom of that page.
The user will get a notification to let them know that they have a pending connection. They can either accept or decline the request.
Once the connection request has been accepted, the user will show in the Connections section of your profile and via the Connections tab in the Connect feature. When you tap on one of your connections you will see their full profile and have the ability to chat in-app.
Once a user accepts your connection request, you can send them an in-app chat message. You can access their profile and send a chat via the Connect list or via your profile at the top-right of the guide.
You can either select the user's name and tap on Chat with button in their profile or tap on the Chat icon to the right of their name in the list.
You can access all of your existing connections and open chat threads via your profile at the top right of the guide. You can copy text within a message by doing a long hold on a message or share a photo using the camera icon at the bottom left.
To remove a connection, access their profile and scroll to the bottom to find the Remove Connection option. This will delete all of the messages that you and this user have sent to each other.
Can I upload my Connect list?
This feature is user-generated and cannot be pre-loaded with information by a guide-builder. If you'd like to add a list of attendees to your guide, you can do so by adding a custom list.
What can I do with my connections?
Once a person has accepted your invitation to connect, you will be able to view their profile and contact details. These connections will be stored and visible from your account (top-right corner of the screen) regardless of which app or guide you are accessing. If you'd like to send a chat message to them, you can tap on the button to do so within their profile view.