In this article, we will discuss managing the life of your survey. Whether you want to disable your survey (so users are no longer able to submit responses) or edit how many times users can submit a response, we have you covered.
Note: The new surveys require a resubmission to stores to function on a Branded App. Please reach out to email@example.com and submit your app for approval on your Space Dashboard before converting to the new survey model.
Creating a Survey
To get started with creating your survey, please see our Getting Started with Surveys walkthrough.
Editing a Survey
If you need to make edits after your survey has been created, you can certainly do so! All survey fields are editable from the details tab of the survey. However, it's worth noting that there are two actions that will cause existing survey responses to be deleted - changing the survey's purpose or adding/removing/editing the questions. If either of these actions are attempted, Builder will supply a warning message that indicates all existing survey responses will be lost.
Note: If you determine that there is an error in your questions and need to update those, we recommend disabling the survey and leaving it in place to retain your existing survey responses. You can then create a new survey and clone the existing questions into it for submissions going forward.
Disabling a Survey
If you no longer want users to submit survey responses, there is a toggle that will disable the survey immediately (and it does not require you to publish guide updates). Just navigate to the Surveys & Polls section of the dashboard, and then click on the survey you would like to disable. In the top right corner of the page, there is a toggle that allows you to activate and deactivate collecting responses (pictured below). The effects of this toggle are immediate.
Another way to disable your survey is to remove the survey purpose. After removing the purpose, you will need to publish the pending updates for the change to take effect.
Once the survey is no longer collecting responses, the user will see the following message on their mobile device when trying to access the survey:
Deleting a Survey
When viewing the list of your surveys, a survey can be deleted using the gear icon on the right hand side. Please note that deleting your survey is permanent, and cannot be reversed. You will lose all responses associated with the deleted survey. We highly encourage keeping all surveys in your guide if there have been user submissions.