Accessing the Settings Tab
Every feature has a Settings tab that will allow you to make basic changes to the feature.
You can access the Settings tab by selecting the feature and then clicking the Settings tab.
For Folders, make sure the folder is expanded or opened by clicking the arrow. Then click the more options ellipsis button (⋯) to open Folder Settings.
Settings You Can Change
You can make the following changes from the Settings tab:
Name: You can change the name in the box next to the Name section.
Icon: Our Custom Icons support article goes into more detail on this process.
Availability: A feature that is not available still lives in the guide but is hidden from users. This is a great way to keep a feature hidden while you make updates. Use the Available in the app and Available on the web toggles to choose where the feature appears. See Making Your Guide Viewable on the Web below for more on the web side, including the common misconception that there's a separate web setup.
Display: In a custom list, you can choose between displaying the list items as rows or grid view (the default is rows).
Home Screen: When set as the home screen, this feature will be the first thing your users see the first time they open the guide. You can set a new feature as the home screen by activating this toggle in the Settings tab for that feature.
Delete all sessions/list items: This will remove all sessions or list items from your schedule/custom list. This is a great option to use if you want to keep the list, but need to completely re-import your data. For example, if you've copied content from your guide from last year, you may want to keep the list names but remove the list items. This button allows you to take this step.
When this action is taken, the contents will be lost. Please ensure you no longer need the data within the feature.
Delete this feature: This will remove the feature from the navigation menu. You can always add features back from the Add features option.
When this action is taken, the contents will be lost. Please ensure you no longer need the data within the feature.
Note: The Allow Rating setting was retired in October 2026. If your guide already collected ratings, you can still access them through the Ratings export.
Making Your Guide Viewable on the Web
The web version of your guide is created automatically once your guide is published. You control which features appear on the web by toggling Available on the web in each menu item’s Settings tab. To customize the look of your web page, click Configure your Guidebook Web page in the Promote section (see the Guidebook Web article).
Web availability is set per feature, not per guide. You need to enable it for each menu item you want attendees to see on a laptop or desktop browser. If you only enable it for some features, your web version will show only those features.
Web availability is off by default for new menu items. If your attendees can't see content on the web version of your guide, the most common reason is that the toggle hasn't been enabled for those features yet.
To find your guide's public web URL, click Promote from your guide dashboard. The URL follows the format builder.guidebook.com/g/[short-name], where [short-name] is the short name you set during guide creation (you can change it anytime in Guide Details). Share this URL with attendees who want to access your guide from a laptop or desktop.
For more on the web experience from the attendee's perspective, see Guidebook Web for End Users.
Feature-Specific Settings
Some features, like Interact, Schedule, and Maps have specific settings that only apply to that type of feature. For example, pinned menu items (pinned custom lists or pinned sessions) have an option to unpin the item from home without deleting the contents. The schedule feature allows you to enable or disable session discussion and enable or disable gated content for sessions that require registration.
